Agenda & speakers: Session one

Draft agenda, speakers & presentations


Session 1: 1.00 – 2.30pm - The big picture

A series of presentations from national road safety stakeholder organisations, in which they will outline their strategy and priorities for the coming 12-24 months.

13.05: Andrew Jones, Road Safety Minister, DfT

Andrew Jones is Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the DfT with responsibility for road safety. More...


13.15: Honor Byford, Road Safety GB

Honor Byford has been a professional road safety officer for more than 30 years and has broad experience of education, training and publicity programmes and team management. More... 
Watch the presentation

13.30: Tim Lennon, Deputy Head of Campaigns, DfT

Tim Lennon is responsible for leading the THINK! road safety campaigns delivered by the Department for Transport. More
Watch the presentation

13.45: DCC Tim Madgwick, NPCC Lead for Motorcycling

Deputy Chief Constable Tim Madgwick, who has more than 25 years' service with North Yorkshire Police, became NPCC (formerly ACPO) lead for motorcycling in 2014. More
Watch the presentation

14.00: Nigel Hutchinson, CFOA Strategic Lead on Road Safety

Nigel Hutchinson is the chief fire officer and chief executive of North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service, and in 2014 became CFOS’s strategic lead on road safety. More
Watch the presentation


14.15: Richard Leonard, Group Manager: Safer Roads & Stuart Lovatt, Safety Action Plan Coordinator, Highways England (both)

This presentation will outline the development of the new road safety strategy that underpins the aims and objectives in Highways England’s newly launched health and safety five year plan. More...
Watch the presentation