Latest news from the Eastern Region

Year 6 pupil wins schools’ poetry competition

A poem which highlights a number of key safety messages for cyclists has been named winner of the Safer Essex Roads Partnership’s (SERP) school road safety poetry competition.

‘Extra Eyes’ will help keep Essex road users safer

The Safer Essex Roads Partnership (SERP) is encouraging road users to submit footage showing dangerous road user behaviour as part of a new campaign to make the region’s roads safer for everyone.

Thurrock pupils learn importance of being bright and seen

A scheme in Essex is helping primary school pupils recognise the importance of ‘being bright’ and ‘being seen’, especially during the winter months.


Road safety teams listed A-Z

Bedford Borough Council

Andrew McGrorey, Client Transport and Road Safety Operations Manager (Interim), Borough Hall, Cauldwell Street, BEDFORD MK42 9AP
01234 228142 (Extn 42142) • Andrew.McGrorey@bedford.gov.uk


Cambridgeshire County Council

Matt Staton, Road Safety Education Team Leader, Local Infrastructure and Street Management, Cambridgeshire County Council, D8e Stanton House, Stanton Way, Huntingdon, CAMBS PE29 6XL
01223 699652 • Matt.Staton@cambridgeshire.gov.uk


Central Bedfordshire Council

Amanda Harvey, Senior Road Safety Officer, Priory House, Monks Walk, Chicksands, Shefford, Bedfordshire, SG17 5TQ
0300 300 5340 • Amanda.Harvey@centralbedfordshire.gov.uk


Essex County Council

Katie Brimley, Road Safety Manager, Essex County Council, Highways & Transportation, County Hall, Chelmsford CM11QH
01245 342897 • katie.brimley@essexhighways.org


Hertfordshire County Council

Tom Hennessey, Business Manager – Transport, Access & Safety, Hertfordshire County Council, Postal Point CHN101, County Hall, Pegs Lane, Hertford SG13 8DN
01992 588385 • tom.hennessey@hertfordshire.gov.uk


Luton Borough Council

Christine Davy, Traffic, Safety & Regulation Manager, Environment & Regeneration, Luton Borough Council, Town Hall, LUTON LU1 2BQ
01582 546962 • christine.davy@luton.gov.uk


Norfolk County Council

Iain Temperton, Team Manager, Casualty Reduction Education & Development, Community & Environmental Services, County Hall, Norwich NR1 2SG
01603 228921 • iain.temperton@norfolk.gov.uk


Peterborough City Council

Clair George, Senior Road Safety Officer, Road Safety Team, Bayard Place, Broadway, Peterborough PE1 1ZX
01733 453576 • clair.george@peterborough.gov.uk


Southend on Sea Borough Council

Peter Swanwick, Road Safety Officer, Department for Place, Southend-on-Sea Borough Council, Floor 12 Civic Centre, Victoria Avenue, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6ER
01702 215193 • 07766 998369 • PeterSwanwick@southend.gov.uk


Suffolk County Council

Mike Motteram, Road Safety Manager, Suffolk County Council, Resource Management, Endeavour House, 8 Russell Road, Ipswich, Suffolk IP1 2BX
01473 264996 • mike.motteram@suffolk.gov.uk


Thurrock Council

Julie Cooper, Road Safety Active Travel Co-ordinator, Thurrock Council, Civic Offices, New Road, GRAYS, Essex RM17 6SL
01375 652574 • jcooper@thurrock.gov.uk