Latest news from the Eastern Region

Motorcycle campaign asks ‘are you looking out for me?’

The Safer Essex Roads Partnership has re-launched the Hugger campaign in an effort to reduce the risks faced by motorcyclists on the county’s roads.

Motorcycle course puts education before enforcement

Norfolk Police and Norfolk County Council’s road safety team are celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Safe Rider training course, which has been delivered to more than 3,000 riders.

Councillors approve ‘holistic approach’ to road safety

Councillors in Cambridgeshire have voted to adopt a new ‘safe systems framework’ which recognises road safety expertise as a key council asset.


Road safety teams listed A-Z

Bedford Borough Council

Andrew McGrorey, Client Transport and Road Safety Operations Manager (Interim), Borough Hall, Cauldwell Street, BEDFORD MK42 9AP
01234 228142 (Extn 42142) • Andrew.McGrorey@bedford.gov.uk


Cambridgeshire County Council

Matt Staton, Road Safety Education Team Leader, Local Infrastructure and Street Management, Cambridgeshire County Council, D8e Stanton House, Stanton Way, Huntingdon, CAMBS PE29 6XL
01223 699652 • Matt.Staton@cambridgeshire.gov.uk


Central Bedfordshire Council

Tim Oxley, Senior Road Safety Officer, Highways, Priory House, Monks Walk, Chicksands, Shefford, Bedfordshire, SG17 5TQ
0300 300 5974 • tim.oxley@centralbedfordshire.gov.uk


Essex County Council

Katie Brimley, Road Safety Manager, Essex County Council, Highways & Transportation, County Hall, Chelmsford CM11QH
01245 342897 • katie.brimley@essexhighways.org


Hertfordshire County Council

Tom Hennessey, Business Manager – Transport, Access & Safety, Hertfordshire County Council, Postal Point CHN101, County Hall, Pegs Lane, Hertford SG13 8DN
01992 588385 • tom.hennessey@hertfordshire.gov.uk


Luton Borough Council

Christine Davy, Traffic, Safety & Regulation Manager, Environment & Regeneration, Luton Borough Council, Town Hall, LUTON LU1 2BQ
01582 546962 • christine.davy@luton.gov.uk


Norfolk County Council

Iain Temperton, Team Manager, Casualty Reduction Education & Development, Community & Environmental Services, County Hall, Norwich NR1 2SG
01603 228921 • iain.temperton@norfolk.gov.uk


Peterborough City Council

Clair George, Senior Road Safety Officer, Road Safety Team, Bayard Place, Broadway, Peterborough PE1 1ZX
01733 453576 • clair.george@peterborough.gov.uk


Southend on Sea Borough Council

Peter Swanwick, Road Safety Officer, Department for Place, Southend-on-Sea Borough Council, Floor 12 Civic Centre, Victoria Avenue, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6ER
01702 215193 • 07766 998369 • PeterSwanwick@southend.gov.uk


Suffolk County Council

Mike Motteram, Road Safety, Speed & Traffic Manager, Suffolk HighwaysNetwork Regulation, Pheonix House, 3 Goddard Road, Ipswich IP1 5NP
01473 264996 • mike.motteram@suffolk.gov.uk


Thurrock Council

Julie Cooper, Road Safety Active Travel Co-ordinator, Thurrock Council, Civic Offices, New Road, GRAYS, Essex RM17 6SL
01375 652574 • jcooper@thurrock.gov.uk