Latest news from the South West


Partnership campaign seeks to cut death toll on Devon’s roads

Devon and Cornwall’s police and crime commissioner has teamed up with a local haulier and a road safety charity to launch a regional road safety campaign.

Survey respondents back call to increase fines for speeding motorists

An ‘overwhelming number’ of those who took part in a survey have backed a call for increased fines for speeding motorists – and for a proportion of fines to be used for road safety measures.

Safe systems approach underpins new Devon and Cornwall strategy

Devon and Cornwall’s police and crime commissioner has launched a new strategy, with a particular focus on vulnerable road users, in an effort to create the ‘safest roads in the UK’.


Road safety teams listed A-Z

Bath & North East Somerset Council

David Boardman, Road Safety Engineer, Road Safety Team, Bath & North East Somerset Council, Civic Centre, Market Walk, Keynsham BS31 1FS.
01225 394041 • David_Boardman@BATHNES.GOV.UK


Bristol City Council

Road Safety Education, Bristol City Council, Brunel House, St Georges Road, Bristol BS1 5LJ
Frances Dansie: frances.dansie@bristol.gov.uk
Jonathan Mason: jonathan.mason@bristol.gov.uk
0117 922 4383


Borough of Poole

Nick Ellis, Transportation Services, Borough of Poole, Civic Centre, Poole BH15 2RU
01202 262032 • nick.ellis@poole.gov.uk


Cornwall Council

Paula Wellings, Casualty Reduction Manager, Fire, Response and Community Safety Service, Prevention & Road Safety Team, Bodmin Community Fire Station, Berrycoombe Road, Bodmin, Cornwall PL31 2NS
01872 327237 • pwellings@cornwall.gov.uk


Devon County Council

Planning, Transportation & Environment, Devon County Council, AB2 Lucombe House, County Hall, Exeter EX2 4QD

Jeremy Phillips, Road Casualty Reduction Team Manager • 01392 383289 • Jeremy.phillips@devon.gov.uk
Nigel Flower, Safer Strategic Travel Officer • 01392 383895 • nigel.flower@devon.gov.uk


Dorset County Council

Wayne Sayers, Road Safety ETP Team Leader, Environmental Services Directorate, Dorset County Council, County Hall, Dorchester, Dorset, DT1 1XJ
01305 224161 • w.sayers@dorsetcc.gov.uk


Gloucestershire County Council

Andrew Parker-Mowbray, Road Safety and Transport Data Team Leader, Network & Traffic Management, The Gloucestershire Road Safety Partnership, Tri-Service Centre, Waterwells Drive, Watwerwells Business Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2BA
01452 425221 • Andrew.parker-mowbray@gloucestershire.gov.uk


Isles of Scilly

Keith Grossett, Commissioning, Inclusion and Performance Manager, Children’s Services, Council of the Isles of Scilly, Town Hall, St. Mary’s TR21 0LL
01720 424005 • KGrossett@scilly.gov.uk


North Somerset Council

Liz Mapstone, Road Safety Officer, Highways and Transport, North Somerset Council, Town Hall, Walliscote Grove Road, Weston-super-Mare, BS23 1UJ
01934 426910 • elizabeth.mapstone@n-somerset.gov.uk


Plymouth City Council

Suzanne Keith, Road Safety Officer, Plymouth Transport and Highways, Plymouth City Council, Plymouth, PL1 2AA
01752 304316 • suzanne.keith@plymouth.gov.uk


Somerset County Council

Steve Greenhalgh – Road Safety Coordinator (cars, events and KS3/4)
Neill Sedgwick – Road Safety Coordinator (motorcycles)
Somerset Road Safety, Somerset County Council, County Hall, Taunton TA1 4DY
01823 423430 • roadsafety@somerset.gov.uk


South Gloucestershire Council

Pam Williams, Senior Road Safety Education Officer
South Gloucestershire Council, ECS, PO Box 1954, Road Safety ETP, Bristol, BS37 0DD

01454 863606 • Pamela.Williams@southglos.gov.uk
www.southglos.gov.uk/roadsafety


Swindon Borough Council

Suzanne Coles, Traffic Manager, Transport Planning & Traffic Management, Swindon Borough Council, Wat Tyler West, Beckhampton St, Swindon SN1 2JH
01793 466394 • scoles@swindon.gov.uk


Wiltshire Council

Jane Deeley, Road Safety Manager (Education), Road Safety Team
Sustainable TransportWiltshire Council, Trowbridge BA14 8JN
T: 01225 713965 | jane.deeley@wiltshire.gov.uk
Road Safety Team: 01225 713700 | www.wiltshire.gov.uk