Latest news from the South West


Stakeholders disagree over BaNES’ 20mph scheme

While various media reports suggest a 20mph scheme in Bath & North East Somerset has led to a rise in deaths and serious injuries, 20s Plenty for Us says the data produced by the council is ‘so compromised that it would not be reasonable…to make any decisions based on the report’.

Road safety teams highlight ‘morning after’ drink-drive issue

Four road safety teams in different parts of the country are running a campaign urging festive revellers to be mindful of the risk of driving while still over the limit the morning after drinking alcohol – with tonight (15 Dec) expected to be the busiest time for Christmas parties.

UK schemes recognised with Prince Michael awards

Road safety initiatives from across the globe, including several from Great Britain, have been presented with Prince Michael International Road Safety Awards.


Road safety teams listed A-Z

Bath & North East Somerset Council

David Boardman, Road Safety Engineer, Road Safety Team, Bath & North East Somerset Council, Civic Centre, Market Walk, Keynsham BS31 1FS.
01225 394041 • David_Boardman@BATHNES.GOV.UK


Bournemouth Borough Council

Town Hall Annexe, St Stephen’s Road, Bournemouth BH2 6EA
Richard Pearson, Road Safety and Traffic Manager: 01202 45146
Steve Hoyle, Road Safety Engineer: 01202 454732
Claire Heaton, Road Safety Project Officer: 01202 454654
richard.pearson@bournemouth.gov.uk


Bristol City Council

Road Safety Education, Bristol City Council, Brunel House, St Georges Road, Bristol BS1 5LJ
Frances Dansie: frances.dansie@bristol.gov.uk
Jonathan Mason: jonathan.mason@bristol.gov.uk
0117 922 4383


Borough of Poole

Nick Ellis, Transportation Services, Borough of Poole, Civic Centre, Poole BH15 2RU
01202 262032 • nick.ellis@poole.gov.uk


Cornwall Council

Paula Wellings, Casualty Reduction Manager, Fire, Response and Community Safety Service, Prevention & Road Safety Team, Bodmin Community Fire Station, Berrycoombe Road, Bodmin, Cornwall PL31 2NS
01872 327237 • pwellings@cornwall.gov.uk


Devon County Council

Planning, Transportation & Environment, Devon County Council, AB2 Lucombe House, County Hall, Exeter EX2 4QD

Jeremy Phillips, Road Casualty Reduction Team Manager • 01392 383289 • Jeremy.phillips@devon.gov.uk
Nigel Flower, Safer Strategic Travel Officer • 01392 383334 • nigel.flower@devon.gov.uk


Dorset County Council

Wayne Sayers, Road Safety ETP Team Leader, Environmental Services Directorate, Dorset County Council, County Hall, Dorchester, Dorset, DT1 1XJ
01305 224161 • w.sayers@dorsetcc.gov.uk


Gloucestershire County Council

Garry Handley OBE, Road Safety Manager, The Gloucestershire Road Safety Partnership, Tri-Service Centre, Waterwells Drive, Watwerwells Business Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 2BA
01452 888714 • garry.handley@glosfire.gov.uk


Isles of Scilly

Keith Grossett, Commissioning, Inclusion and Performance Manager, Children’s Services, Council of the Isles of Scilly, Town Hall, St. Mary’s TR21 0LL
01720 424005 • KGrossett@scilly.gov.uk


North Somerset Council

Liz Mapstone, Road Safety Officer, Highways and Transport, North Somerset Council, Town Hall, Walliscote Grove Road, Weston-super-Mare, BS23 1UJ
01934 426910 • elizabeth.mapstone@n-somerset.gov.uk


Plymouth City Council

Suzanne Keith, Road Safety Officer, Plymouth Transport and Highways, Plymouth City Council, Plymouth, PL1 2AA
01752 304316 • suzanne.keith@plymouth.gov.uk


Somerset County Council

Steve Greenhalgh – Road Safety Coordinator (cars, events and KS3/4)
Neill Sedgwick – Road Safety Coordinator (motorcycles)
Somerset Road Safety, Somerset County Council, County Hall, Taunton TA1 4DY
01823 423430 • roadsafety@somerset.gov.uk


South Gloucestershire Council

South Gloucestershire Council, ECS, PO Box 1954, Road Safety ETP, Bristol BS37 0DD
Pam Williams, Senior Road Safety Education Officer
01454 863606 • Pamela.Williams@southglos.gov.uk


Swindon Borough Council

Jane Deeley, Road Safety Officer, Highways & Transport Service Delivery, Wat Tyler House West (4th floor), Beckhampton Street, Swindon SN1 2JG
01793 466335 • jdeeley@swindon.gov.uk


Torbay Council

Bev Hannah, Lower Ground Floor, Town Hall, Torquay TQ1 3DR
01803 207677 • beverley.hannah@torbay.gov.uk


Wiltshire Council

Judith Billingham, Road Safety Manager, Traffic & Highways Network, Wiltshire Council, 36 Lancaster Road, Bowerhill, Melksham, Wilts SN12 6QT
01225 701970 • judith.billingham@wiltshire.gov.uk