Latest news from Yorkshire & Humberside


School road closures support Clean Air Day in Leeds

Roads around some primary schools in Leeds will close to traffic later this month, aiming to promote road safety and active travel.

‘Brilliant’ films and podcasts promote school road safety

Students in Leeds have been tapping into their creative sides to produce education films and podcasts to help promote road safety.

Sheffield appoints first active travel commissioner

Dame Sarah Storey says she hopes to make ‘real changes to the way people travel’, after being appointed Sheffield City Region’s first active travel commissioner.


Road safety teams listed A-Z

Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council

Kerry Birks, Road Safety Officer, Westgate Plaza, Barnsley S70 9FA,
01226 772192 • kerrybirks@barnsley.gov.uk


Bradford Metropolitan Borough Council

Sue Snoddy, Road Safety Officer, Shipley Town Hall, Kirkgate, Bradford BD18 3EJ
01274 437409 • sue.snoddy@bradford.gov.uk


Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council

Marie Conway, Safe Active Travel Team, Public Health, Northgate House, Northgate, Halifax HX1 1UN
0770 2925456 • marie.conway@calderdale.gov.uk


City of York Council

Trish Hirst, Road Safety Officer, and Jayne Ward, School Crossing Patrol Supervisor and Road Safety Officer, City of York Council, Transport Service, Directorate of Economy and Place, Hazel Court, York, YO10 3DS
Tel: 01904 551331 • trish.hirst@york.gov.uk/jayne.ward@york.gov.uk


Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council

Nancy Byrne, Community Safety Officer, Community Safety, Adults, Health and Wellbeing, Floor 3, Civic Office, Doncaster, DN1 3BU
Tel: 01302 737086 or 07769 931347 • Nancy.Byrne@doncaster.gov.uk


East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Paul McConnon, Senior Road Safety Officer, County Hall, Cross Street, Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire, HU17 9BA
01482 395602 • paul.mcconnon@eastriding.gov.uk


Hull City Council

Allan Robins, Road Safety Officer, Hull City Council, Major Projects & Infrastructure, 2nd Floor, Earle House, Colonial Street, Kingston upon Hull HU2 8JY
01482 614882 • allan.robins@hullcc.gov.uk


Kirklees Council

Suzanne Lindsay, Kirklees Council, Flint Street, Fartown, Huddersfield HD1 6LG
01484 221000 • Suzanne.Lindsay@kirklees.gov.uk


Leeds City Council

Rebecca James, Team Leader – Road Safety, 8th Floor East, Leeds City Council, Merrion House, 110 Merrion Centre, Leeds, LS2 8BB
0113 37 87437 • rebecca.james@leeds.gov.uk


North East Lincolnshire Council

David Cullum, Road Safety Education Officer, NELincs/Engie, New Oxford House, George Street, Grimsby, North East Lincolnshire, DN31 1HB
01472 324490 • david.cullum@nelincs.gov.uk


North Lincolnshire Council

Richard Hall, Team Manager, Road Safety, Highways, 8-9 Billet Lane, Scunthorpe, DN15 9YH
01724 297346 • richard.hall@northlincs.gov.uk


North Yorkshire County Council

Team Leader – Road Safety & Travel Awareness, Highways North Yorkshire, County Hall, Northallerton DL7 8AH
01609 532616


Rotherham MBC

Matthew Reynolds, Transportation Manager, Transportation Infrastructure Service, Regeneration and Environment, Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council, Wing A, Floor 3, Riverside House, Main Street, Rotherham S60 1AE
01709 254490/07747 456677 • matthew.reynolds@rotherham.gov.uk


Sheffield City Council

Karen Vickers, Sheffield City Council, Town Hall, Pinstone St, Sheffield S1 2HH
0114 2736165 • karen.vickers@sheffield.gov.uk


Wakefield Metropolitan District Council

Julie Yildirim, The Road Safety Team, Wakefield One, Burton Street, Wakefield WF1 2EB
01924 306000 • jyildirim@wakefeld.gov.uk