Road Safety GB is a national road safety organisation made up of representatives from groups across the UK, including local government road safety teams.

Our aim is to reduce the number and severity of road collisions – and by doing so to reduce loss of life and personal injury – by raising awareness of road safety and safer road user behaviour by providing training, advice, information, leadership, research, publicity, informed comment and other services to our members and other national and regional road safety stakeholders.

We work to develop a range of educational initiatives – often in partnership with other organisations – all of which are widely publicised to inform the national debate on road safety.

We also aim to inform and influence public opinion by making available information on the subject of road safety, working with other organisations to achieve shared goals.

Road Safety GB also organises the annual National Road Safety Conference, runs training courses via the Road Safety GB Academy, owns and manages the Road Safety Knowledge Centre and publishes the national road safety newsfeed on this website.

RSGB five-year strategic plan 2022-27
This new plan will continue to embrace the values and history of Road Safety GB with great emphasis on effective partnership working, allied to the pursuit of an enhanced global status, income generation and the delivery of increased benefits to members of Road Safety GB.

Click here to download the plan

Road Safety GB Regional Groups
Road Safety GB members work together in 12 regional groups across the UK. Click here for more information about each region and contact details for road safety teams in each area.

Chairpersons since 2000

2023 – Present
Sam Merison, Richmond and Wandsworth Councils

2020 – 2023
Philippa Young, Warwickshire County Council

2018 – 2020
Liz Brooker MBE, Lewisham Council

2016 – 2018
Sonya Hurt, Nottinghamshire County Council

2013 – 2016
Honor Byford, North Yorkshire County Council

2009 – 2013
Alan Kennedy, Durham County Council

2007 – 2009
Malcolm Burns, Wiltshire County Council

2005 – 2007
Simon Ettinghausen, London Borough of Bexley

2003 – 2005
Steve Whitehouse, Sefton MBC

2000 – 2003
Wendy Broome, Hertfordshire County Council

Click here to see the current management team.

Company information
Company Name: RSGB Limited.
Company No. 8405185.
The company is limited by guarantee.
Registered within England.
Registered address: 124 City Road, London, EC1V 2NX.

Registered Charity No. 1153231

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.