Members urged to vote in vice-chair ballot

11.55 | 31 October 2011 |

Members are being encouraged to ensure they cast their vote in a ballot that will decide who will become the next vice-chair of Road Safety GB.

The two candidates are Honor Byford of North Yorkshire County Council and Steve Chadwick of Shropshire Council. The result will be announced at the 2011 AGM at The Queen Hotel in Chester on 15 November. The elected person will succeed the current vice-chair, Tim Philpot, and will serve for a two-year period until the 2013 AGM.

Honor Byford is road safety & travel awareness team leader for North Yorkshire County Council and has been a professional road safety officer for more than 30 years.

In her personal statement, Honor says: “I believe in innovation and progress but also in maintaining the values of proven programmes where they are the best means to a safety education end.

“I am keen to see our profession develop its role in a rapidly changing environment. Political, economic and technological changes, along with social progress, mean that we are now at a crucial point.

“I believe that we have a very important role to play and highly motivated people within our profession who will deliver a valuable, high quality service to their authorities and to the public at large.

“I think that I have the knowledge, experience and drive to help Road Safety GB and all our member authorities to secure our place for the future.”

Steve Chadwick began his road safety career as a trainee road safety officer for Greater Manchester County Council and is now team leader road safety education for Shropshire Council.

In his personal statement, Steve says: “I have been employed within the road safety profession for 27 years, and I care very much about our work and am committed to improving road user behaviour with the aim of reducing death and serious injury on our roads.

“I am very enthusiastic to work with colleagues / members of Road Safety GB so that we can ‘make a difference’, especially in these challenging times we find ourselves in.”

Each Road Safety GB member organisation is entitled to cast one vote. For more information about the candidates, and to vote in the online ballot, visit the members’ area on this website.


Comment on this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.