Road safety ‘Parliamentarians of the Year’ announced

10.54 | 22 January 2010 |

The road safety charity Brake and Direct Line Insurance have presented ‘Parliamentarian of the Year’ awards to MPs Meg Munn and Richard Spring.
Meg Munn, MP for Sheffield Heeley, mounted a determined campaign in 2009 for action to be taken to help identify commercial drivers who have undiagnosed sleep apnoea.

She has secured a commitment from Government to change the medical examination form that commercial drivers must complete before receiving their licence. Meg plans to continue her campaign within the business sector, and is in discussion to trial a screening and treatment programme with a major company in 2010.
Richard Spring, MP for Suffolk West, has been campaigning for improvements on the A11, leading into Norfolk, for the past 10 years. His determination and continued pressure have secured funding and a timetable for dualling the road and work will start this year.
Cathy Keeler, Brake’s deputy chief executive, said: “Meg Munn and Richard Spring have proven that sustained campaigning can achieve real results. I hope their achievements will inspire other Parliamentarians to make road safety a top political priority.”

The awards were presented at Brake’s annual reception at the Houses of Parliament on 19 January.
 Click here to read more about Brake’s Parliamentarian of the Month awards. 


Comment on this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.