Latest news from the North East Region


Give drink and drug driving the red card for Euro 2024

People across the North East are being urged to kick drink and drug driving out of the Euros as the football tournament prepares to get underway this week.

Road safety magic show does the trick for Durham pupils

A fun magic show with a serious road safety message has been enjoyed by more than 1,000 County Durham pupils.

RSGB NE launches new young driver campaign

A new campaign is encouraging young motorists in the North East to do everything they can to keep themselves and their passengers safe by being sensible and taking responsibility for each other.

Motorcycle signs rolled out at ‘danger hotspots’

More than 100 motorcycle safety signs have been put up across Northumberland in a bid to help save lives on the region’s roads. 


Road safety teams listed A-Z

Darlington Borough Council

Andy Casey, Head of Highway Network Management, Darlington Borough Council, 17 Allington Way, Darlington, County Durham DL1 5QT
01325 406701 • andy.casey@darlington.gov.uk


Durham County Council

Angela Redmond, Road Safety Manager, Regeneration, Economy and Growth. Durham County Council, County Hall, Durham DH1 5UQ
03000 268168 • angela.redmond@durham.gov.uk


Gateshead Council

Gillian Cook, Road Safety Officer, Planning Policy, Climate Change and Strategic Transport, Economy, Innovation and Growth, Civic Centre, Regent Street, Gateshead NE8 1HH
07523932256 • gilliancook@gateshead.gov.uk


Hartlepool Borough Council

Justin Goult, Sustainable Travel Officer – Traffic and Transport, Hartlepool Borough Council, Level 4, Civic Centre, Victoria Road, Hartlepool TS24 8AY

01429 803082 • justin.goult@hartlepool.gov.uk


Middlesbrough Council

Mike O’Reilly, Road Safety Officer
T: 01642 729077
E: mike_o’reilly@middlesbrough.gov.uk

Michelle Scallen, Assistant Road Safety Officer
T: 01642 726249
E: michelle_scallen@middlesbrough.gov.uk

Economic Growth and Infrastructure, Middlesbrough Council, 1st Floor,, Fountain Court, 119 Grange Road, Middlesbrough, TS1 2DT


Newcastle City Council

Cheryl Ford Lyddon, Road Safety Manager, Newcastle City Council, 10th Floor Civic Centre, Barras Bridge, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8QH
0191 2115961 • cheryl.ford-lyddon@newcastle.gov.uk


North Tyneside Council

Nick Saunders, Senior Traffic Engineer, North Tyneside Council, Quadrant West, The Silverlink North, Cobalt Business Park, North Tyneside NE27 OBY
0191 643 6598 • nick.saunders@northtyneside.gov.uk


Northumberland County Council

Carol Watson, Road Safety Training Coordinator, Highways Improvement Team, Local Services, Northumberland County Council, Morpeth County Hall, NE61 2EF
07870 366012 • carol.watson@northumberland.gov.uk


Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council

Road Safety, Belmont House, Rectory Lane, Guisborough, Yorkshire TS14 7FD
01642 774774


South Tyneside Council

Kim Quest-Law, Road Safety Coordinator, South Tyneside Council, Town Hall and Civic Offices, Westoe Road, South Shields. NE33 2RL
0191 424 7613 • kim.questlaw@southtyneside.gov.uk


Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Anthony Wilton, Principal Engineer Road Safety, Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council, Community Service and Transport, PO Box 229, Kingsway House, West Precinct, Billingham TS23 2YL
01642 527311 • anthony.wilton@stockton.gov.uk


Sunderland City Council

Anthony Bell, Road Safety Engineer, Transportation Development, City Development Directorate, Jack Crawford House, Commercial Road, Sunderland, SR2 8QR.Tel: 0191 561 1524 • anthony.bell@sunderland.gov.uk


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close