Latest news from the South West


Pilot to test the effectiveness of simulated hazard awareness training for motorcyclists

Devon & Cornwall Police have unveiled a new state-of-the-art motorcycle simulator, which will be used to engage with inexperienced riders.

Somerset launches campaign following ‘disturbing’ rise in road deaths

Dangerous driving behaviours are the focus of a new Somerset Council campaign aimed at reducing fatal collisions on the county’s roads. 

Op Snap continues to grow in Devon & Cornwall

More than 6,000 videos were submitted to Devon & Cornwall Police via Op Snap throughout 2023, making it the busiest year in the operation’s history.


Road safety teams listed A-Z

Bath & North East Somerset Council

Bekki Astin, Road Safety Education Lead, Road Safety Team, Bath & North East Somerset Council, Civic Centre, Market Walk, Keynsham BS31 1FS.
01224 394922 • rebecca_astin@bathnes.gov.uk


Bristol City Council

Road Safety Education, Bristol City Council, Brunel House, St Georges Road, Bristol BS1 5LJ
Frances Dansie: frances.dansie@bristol.gov.uk
Jonathan Mason: jonathan.mason@bristol.gov.uk
0117 922 4383


Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council

Martin Baker, Road Safety Team Leader: martin.baker@bcpcouncil.gov.uk
Damian Lush, Road Safety Technical Officer, Road Safety Engineering: damian.lush@bcpcouncil.gov.uk
Claire Heaton, Senior Road Safety Officer, Road Safety Education: 01202 123660 • claire.heaton@bcpcouncil.gov.uk
BCP Council Civic Centre, Bourne Avenue, Bournemouth, BH2 6DY


Cornwall Council

Ian Findler, Principal Transport Officer (Road Safety)
Cornwall Council | Connectivity & Transport Policy | Environment & Connectivity | Sustainable Growth & Development, New County Hall, Treyew Road, Truro, Cornwall TR1 3AY
07483 369532 • Ian.Findler@cornwall.gov.uk


Devon County Council

Planning, Transportation & Environment, Devon County Council, AB2 Lucombe House, County Hall, Exeter EX2 4QD

James Anstee, Road Casualty Reduction Team Manager • 01392 383289 • james.anstee@devon.gov.uk
Nigel Flower, Safer Strategic Travel Officer • 01392 383895 • nigel.flower@devon.gov.uk


Dorset Council

Tony Burden, Road Safety Manager, Economic Growth and Infrastructure, Dorset Council, County Hall, Dorchester, Dorset, DT1 1XJ
01305 224165 • tony.burden@dorsetcouncil.gov.uk


Gloucestershire County Council

Miguel-Angel Serrano Santos, Road Safety Manager, Gloucestershire County Council, Shire Hall, Westgate Street, Gloucester, GL1 2TH
Miguel.Santos@gloucestershire.gov.uk


Isles of Scilly

Eddie Williams, Operational Services Manager (Highways), Council of the Isles of Scilly, Town Hall, St. Mary’s TR21 0LL
01720 424541 or 07778041281 • eddie.williams@scilly.gov.uk


North Somerset Council

Liz Mapstone, Principal Sustainable Travel and Road Safety Officer, Highways and Transport, North Somerset Council, Town Hall, Walliscote Grove Road, Weston-super-Mare, BS23 1UJ
01934 426910 • elizabeth.mapstone@n-somerset.gov.uk


Plymouth City Council

Suzanne Keith, Road Safety Officer, Plymouth Transport and Highways, Plymouth City Council, Plymouth, PL1 2AA
01752 304316 • suzanne.keith@plymouth.gov.uk


Somerset County Council

Steve Greenhalgh – Road Safety Coordinator (cars, events and KS3/4)
Neill Sedgwick – Road Safety Coordinator (motorcycles)
Somerset Road Safety, Somerset County Council, County Hall, Taunton TA1 4DY
01823 423430 • roadsafety@somerset.gov.uk


South Gloucestershire Council

Pam Williams, Road Safety and Sustainable Travel Manager,
South Gloucestershire Council, ECS, PO Box 1954, Road Safety ETP, Bristol, BS37 0DD

01454 863606 • Pamela.Williams@southglos.gov.uk
www.southglos.gov.uk/roadsafety


Swindon Borough Council

Israk Miah, Road Safety Officer, Swindon Borough Council, Wat Tyler West, Beckhampton Street, Swindon, SN12JH. E: imiah@swindon.gov.uk • M: 07989 222693


Wiltshire Council

Jane Deeley, Road Safety Manager (Education), Road Safety Team
Sustainable TransportWiltshire Council, Trowbridge BA14 8JN
T: 01225 713965 | jane.deeley@wiltshire.gov.uk
Road Safety Team: 01225 713700 | www.wiltshire.gov.uk


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close