Nominations invited for 2013 Lynda Chalker Award

12.00 | 19 August 2013 |

Road Safety GB is inviting nominations for the 2013 Lynda Chalker Award, for individuals or organisations that have contributed significantly to road safety in the UK.

The award (or awards) will be presented at the 2013 National Road Safety Conference in Harrogate (14-15 November).

Lynda Chalker (now the Baroness Chalker of Wallasey), who was transport minister in the mid-1980s, presented LARSOA (now Road Safety GB) with a carriage clock to be used for the Award when she moved to a new post in overseas development.

In 2012, three Lynda Chalker Awards were presented.

Mike McAdam (pictured) received the award in recognition of his unique approach in empowering young people to not drink and drive, through his initiative ‘Don’t Be That Someone’.

Dawn Boyfield MBE received the award for the part she played in developing the Children’s Traffic Club and other road safety resources, and her contribution to various advisory panels.

The third award went to Brian Hogarth, Road Safety GB administrator (now retired), in recognition of his exceptional commitment and contribution to road safety at local, regional and national level, in a career which has spanned more than 50 years.

For more information or to make a nomination contact Judith Billingham, Road Safety GB secretary, on 01225 701970. The closing date for nominations is Friday 6 September 2013.


Comment on this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.