Transport authorities scoop national awards

09.39 | 15 October 2018 |

Southwark Council, the Safer Essex Roads Partnership and Transport for Greater Manchester were among the organisations recognised in the 2018 National Transport Awards.

Hosted by the broadcaster and presenter Jeremy Vine, the 18th Annual National Transport Awards were presented in London on 11 October.  The awards’ ceremony attracted more than 600 senior transport professionals including the transport secretary Chris Grayling MP who gave the keynote address.

The prestigious Transport Local Authority of the Year award went to Southwark Council (see pic) who have been working alongside Conway AECOM to deliver improvements in road safety, cycle infrastructure, and how people travel and interact with communities.

CO2 emissions have been steadily decreasing in Southwark, in part as a result of almost 75% of the bus fleet being compliant with the ULEZ and 17 electric vehicle charging points.

Transport for Greater Manchester took the award for City-Region Transport Authority of the Year. In what was described as a ‘busy year for TfGM’, customer satisfaction levels with public transport and patronage numbers have continued to grow.

The Safer Essex Roads Partnership won the Road Safety, Traffic Management & Enforcement award for the Extra Eyes campaign which encourages road users to submit footage showing dangerous road user behaviour. Between January and July 2018, Essex Police received nearly 1,500 Extra Eyes submissions.

The Excellence in Cycling and Walking Award was presented to Transport for Greater Manchester and Manchester City Council, for the Wilmslow Road scheme and Oxford Road Cycleway.

Stephen Joseph OBE was presented with the Lifetime Contribution to Transport award following his recent departure from Campaign for Better Transport after 30 years at the organisation. He was chief executive for 20 years before recently taking up the position of advisor to the charity.

The Outstanding Contribution to National Transport accolade was awarded to Transport Scotland’s chief executive Roy Brannen, who has had a career of more than 25 years in highways and transportation.


Comment on this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.