Road Haulage Association ‘disappointed’ with transport secretary appointment

10.31 | 10 June 2009 |

The Road Haulage Association says it is disappointed that the government did not appoint an MP to the transport secretary role.

In the cabinet reshuffle announced at the end of last week, Jim Fitzpatrick left the DfT, where he was under secretary of state, to join the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs as minister of state.

Geoff Hoon has resigned from the post of transport secretary, with Lord Adonis now the third transport secretary within a year.

The government also announced the appointment of Chris Mole as transport under secretary and Paul Clark stays with the department, also as under secretary.

The Road Haulage Association is concerned that Lord Adonis will not be able to contribute to debates or be held accountable in the House of Commons – because he is a member of the House of Lords.

A spokesperson said: "This is a critical time for the UK road transport industry and it is vital that we have strong accountability in the House of Commons from the Secretary of State  responsible for the Department of Transport. Why can’t Gordon Brown find a suitable elected candidate amonghis Parliamentary Labour Party?"

New transport minister Sadiq Khan will attend Cabinet when transport policy is on the agenda and will be the lead speaker on transport in the House of Commons, according to 10 Downing Street.

Click here to read the full Road Haulage Association press release.

Click here
to read the government’s press release about the reshuffle.


Comment on this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.