Global NCAP picks up Prince’s Premier Award

12.00 | 14 December 2016 |

The Global New Car Assessment Programme (Global NCAP) has picked up the top accolade at the 2016 Prince Michael International Road Safety Awards ceremony.

Announced yesterday (13 Dec) at the annual awards luncheon at the Savoy, London, Global NCAP picked up the Prince’s Premier Award for the way it has driven forward the safety standards of new vehicles.

Global NCAP seeks to promote public safety and public health by conducting independent research and testing programmes to assess the safety and environmental characteristics of motor vehicles and their comparative performance with others.

It also promotes the development of new car assessment programmes, by providing financial support and technical assistance, and facilitating international co-operation with and between such programmes.

Prince Michael (pictured centre) praised Global NCAP, saying the organisation is responsible for a “huge advance” in the way cars are manufactured.

In a video posted on Twitter, Prince Michael said: “This year’s winner is Global NCAP. Max Mosley, who after all started it off with Euro NCAP, is responsible for this huge advance in the way cars are manufactured.

“What NCAP does is raise the standards of cars that are built. They are crash tested and awarded from one to five stars depending on how good they are.

“In my opinion, the cars that are made should not be anything less than five star because it takes time, application, resources and effort to get them to that standard.”

David Ward (pictured right), secretary general, Global NCAP, said: “We are incredibly proud to have won the Premier Award this year. It came as a complete surprise, but a very happy surprise.

“It’s a tremendous tribute, not just to the incredibly dedicated team I have at Global NCAP, but all the partners we work with, the other NCAPs around the world.

“We are a community, a family, working together on a common passion to improve vehicle safety and to receive this recognition is a wonderful thing.”

The Premier Award is the centrepiece of the Prince Michael International Road Safety Awards, which recognise outstanding achievement and innovation worldwide with the most outstanding examples of international road safety initiatives given public recognition through the scheme.

Winners of the Prince Michael Award are notified in advance and celebrated at its annual ceremony with the recipient of the Premier Award is announced on the day. Click here to see a full list of the 2016 winners.

Prince Michael added: “I’m delighted, as always, with the quality of people who have submitted for an award.

“It is a wide variety of people from all over the world and the amount of people who are still willing to do that is very admirable.”

Related to this story

The Road Safety GB Academy receives Prince Michael Award
16 Nov 2016

TfL’s CLOCS programme wins 2015 Prince’s Premier Award
10 Dec 2015



Comment on this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.