New-look DfT takes shape

10.44 | 24 May 2010 |

The new coalition government has published more details about the ministerial line up at the DfT and its plans with regard to transport.

As reported here last week, Philip Hammond is secretary of state for transport with overall responsibility for transport strategy.

Mike Penning, parliamentary under-secretary of state for transport, is responsible for road safety and standards, strategic roads and the Highways Agency, and motoring agencies.

Theresa Villiers is the new minister of state for transport, whose responsibilities include rail, the Olympics, Europe and aviation.

Norman Baker, parliamentary under-secretary of state for transport, is responsible for regional and local transport, walking and cycling.

The coalition’s programme for government includes a commitment to ‘stop central government funding for new fixed speed cameras and switch to more effective ways of making our roads safer, including authorising ‘drugalyser’ technology’.

The government also says it will ‘support sustainable travel initiatives, including the promotion of cycling and walking’.

Click here to read the full programme.


Comment on this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.